My Summer of Traveling: My best travel advice

My Summer of Traveling: My best travel advice

Hello, Interwebs! I know its been quite a long time since I’ve posted anything but, I just recently got back from all of my summer travels!

As you know, I recently graduated high school (yay!) and as my graduation present my parents took me to Japan. To preface this, I have been interested in Japan and Japanese culture since I was a little girl, therefore, my parents promised me that if I did well in high school that they would take me to Japan. Japan was absolutely amazing. The people there are the kindest, most loving people I have ever met in my entire life. There were so many instances where we would have gotten horribly lost without the help of random kind people. We were in Japan for almost three weeks so packing was certainly an issue for us. We knew that we were going to be buying a bunch of souvenirs so we had to decide carefully what we were going to do.

1. Carry-on suitcases are the way to go

Honestly, I can’t stress this enough. A good carry-on suitcase along with learning how to pack better is the best way to travel. For our trip to Japan, we decided to all take carry on luggage ( because no way are we paying $30 a bag) and then buy a suitcase there. We actually needed a new suitcase anyway so this worked out. The biggest part about this is learning how to pack. Learning to pack more efficiently helps keep you organized and allows you to only take the smaller suitcase ( and not pay the money! YAY!)

2. BACKPACKS

I absolutely love backpacks. I never carry a purse and use backpacks for almost everything. Especially when you are traveling long distance backpacks help keep everything organized and usually they are more comfortable and safe than purses.

3. Camera

Decide what camera you want to take based off of a) what you have and b) what you are willing to carry around. I brought my big DSLR thinking that I was going to take a bunch of photos and videos ( don’t get me wrong I used it a ton) but toward the end of the trip I just wanted to enjoy the time there instead of being stuck behind a camera. It just depends on what you’re comfortable with.

4. Planning vs Spontaneity

I am always for planning vacations. I think a lot of times there are things that are necessary to plan in advance.However that being said, make sure everyone is on the same page with what they want to do, or else one person ends up planning the whole thing which leads to no one getting to do what they want. Being spontaneous is also something that I recommend. Not having a plan for EVERYTHING makes for a better trip and interesting experiences. Don’t be afraid to just go out there!

 

Well, that’s all I got for you today~ I’ll be posting all of my photos of my trips soon. If you want a more in-depth travel guide from my trip to Japan let me know!

Stay cool,

Lia

Leave a Reply

