One Week Until Graduation: My Thoughts About High School

Hello interwebs! With finals going on and the school year coming to an end I thought that I would make a post talking about my high school experience as a whole.

High School is an interesting beast. You are becoming who you are while making decisions that will impact you for the rest of your life. But I also want to make a point that you don’t have to graduate with a 4.5 to feel good about your time spent in High School. As someone who isn’t the best at getting straight A’s, I want to tell anyone who is in High School or heading into High School that grades aren’t everything. I graduated High School with somewhere around a 3.5 GPA. I am completely satisfied with my work in school and I got into my top school on scholarship with a GPA that most children are told won’t get them anywhere.

High School is all about development. You are deciding, who you are, what you stand for, what you believe in and what you want to do with the rest of your life. It’s a time for making memories, making friends, and making mistakes. We live in a society today that emphasizes the horrors of failure. One of my favorite Japanese proverbs states ” Failure isn’t getting kicked down, Failure is getting kicked down and refusing to get up”. Everyone has moments where they just mess up, and sometimes even a few times. But to tell you honestly, without those failures, you probably wouldn’t be the same person. Failure isn’t about doing poorly, it’s about doing poorly and then coming up with a solution to not do poorly again.

High School is also a time for deciding what you believe in. I know many kids out there feel as though they have to believe in certain things, or like certain organizations, because that’s what you’re parents believe in. You are on your way to becoming an adult. As an adult, you will have to decide what you believe in, what your values are, and what causes you want to support; These beliefs being separate from your parents. Never be afraid to stand up for what you believe in, even if you are standing separate from your parents.

I loved my High School experience. It was filled with ups and downs, love and heartache, and certainly lots of memories I will never forget. But ultimately, I became the person that I was meant to become. I grew up, saw the real world, and constantly saw the injustices of the world that I want to change. In the end, however, I wouldn’t change any of it for the world. I made some friends that I will cherish for the rest of my life as well as meeting the young man that is the love of my life.

Enjoy it while you can,

Lia

Leave a Reply

