Internet Beauty Hacks Tested: Activated Charcoal Whitening Treatment

Internet Beauty Hacks Tested: Activated Charcoal Whitening Treatment

Hello Interwebs! Today I am going to be starting a new series of testing internet beauty/lifestyle hacks to see if they are hopeless or helpful!

Today’s post will be focusing on this internet trend that I found extremely interesting; using activated charcoal powder, or toothpaste as a means of whitening your teeth almost instantly without having to use chemicals. I originally found this on Instagram, but quickly saw it on Buzzfeed’s youtube channel a few days later. To explain, activated charcoal is used in many beauty treatments including face masks, acne treatments, and bath scrubs. It is a common whitening and brightening treatment so moving it from the face to the teeth isn’t such a crazy idea.

Now, onto the testing. For my particular trial run, I went over to Sprouts and got some Activated charcoal tablets. Mine were in a pill shape with a plastic cover in order to keep the charcoal in. The lady who was working there said that they were popular with teen girls so she knew exactly what I was talking about. When it actually came time to testing it, I popped open the pill and dumped all of the black powdery contents into my hand. After dampening my brush I continued to brush my teeth as normal. I was surprised at how it really didn’t have much of a taste. The only thing I noticed, besides making my teeth look momentarily like a pirate, was the chalky texture. Once I was done, it took a few good swishes of water to get all of the powder out of my mouth and back to normal.

As for the results, I was incredibly surprised. Normally I am very skeptical about internet trends, because well, it is the internet. However, with Prom coming up and me dreading my usual whitening treatment ( which really tastes like I’m drinking bleach) I wanted to try something that, from my research, seemed quick and effective. I was really surprised about how well it whitened my teeth. I usually have some staining from drinking tea, and all of that was gone in an instant.

Overall, without a doubt, this is a helpful beauty hack!

Well that just about does it! Thanks so much for reading and let me know if you want to see more posts like these.

Stay cute,

Lia

Leave a Reply

