Character Creation: The difficulties of creating playable characters

Character Creation: The difficulties of creating playable characters

Hello interwebs! It’s your neighborhood redhead here and today I will be talking about character creation.

If you’ve been a reader of mine for some time now, you may remember a post I did talking about online roleplay and my personal experience with it. Although my experience has been limited regarding the whole roleplay/LARP community I’ve been creating characters for years. I’ve always been interested in writing and when I was younger I would sit and write characters as a means to pass time etc. and I often “lived” in those stories and characters a majority of the time; so when I transitioned into roleplay and LARP it wasn’t something that was out of the ordinary as I have been “playing” other people in my head since I was a kid.

Now on to character creation. Character creation can be really difficult. When first starting out creating a character it is usually best to become an amplified version of yourself. This makes making decisions and straight out acting a whole lot easier. For Lizabeth, I decided to make her the person that I had always wanted to be. She’s confident, witty, strong, a little bit quirky, etc. I’ve also had Lizabeth as a character since I was very young so adapting her to the Etrian story we created wasn’t hard. Similar to this route, you can choose to make a character that is opposite of yourself. If you’re naturally good, make a character who’s a thief, or a bloodthirsty assassin.

For Example, my boyfriend is someone who wants to protect his loved ones and the ideals he holds close. His character, the assassin, takes special effort to make sure those goals are met by whatever means. I think picking something like this to make your character off of is also a good idea because you know what to base a majority of your decisions on. It can be really hard to come up with a character that you can wholly stick to, and I think that it really can make or break your overall gameplay.

That’s all I got on character creation. Let me know if you want a specific tutorial on how I made our characters or other posts like this on writing characters ( like how to write a backstory etc)

Stay classy.

Lia

Leave a Reply

