Christmas Traditions: Weird family quirks and possible new ideas for your family this Christmas 

Hello interwebs! 

       Every family has their own set of Christmas traditions. Whether it is putting up the tree together, baking special cookies, or opening up presents on Christmas Eve; every family has their own way of celebrating the holidays. Today I am going to share with you a few of my personal favorite holiday traditions. Maybe you can add some of these into your family if you find one that sounds interesting! 

1) Cookie Season 

Every year my friends wait for December first to roll around, the start of cookie season. Cookie season is when my dad and I start baking and freezing hundreds upon hundreds of Christmas cookies in preparation for Christmas. This also means that I will bring ziploc bags full of cookies everyday with me to school in order to test out new recipies and see how people like them. Besides baking cookies, I always will bring a plate of cookies and a nice note to each of my teachers in order to butter them up before my finals. 

2) Getting special ornaments for each year 

Whenever we do something especially fun, whether it be a big vacation, graduation, anniversary etc. we always get an ornament for it. This year in particular, since it is my graduation I got a special 2017 ornament to remember the year I graduated high school. We also ended up getting some Disney ornaments of our favorite characters in order to remember that we got our annual pass this year. We will end up sharing our favorite ornaments and what the mean to us as well as the memory they hold, which I think is really cool. 

3) Opening up one present on Christmas Eve 

Every Christmas Eve we get to open one present ( usually one that has been put under by my mom and dad) usually, the end up being our set of Christmas pajamas, but it is still fun to open up something the night before. We will also do the usual traditions associated with Christmas Eve but this one in particular I thought is quite unique. 
Thanks for reading this little glimpse into my family Christmas and maybe you were inspired to start a christmas tradition of your own.

Love and hugs, 

Lia 

Leave a Reply

