Slowly Approaching College: From the POV of an anxious teen

College is something that is slowly approaching, deadlines for all of my college applications being sometime this week, I wanted to take a minute to write a message about this experience from a ‘ not so everyday’ students’ point of view.

For me, college is something that I always thought was this unreachable goal. Not because of financial reasons, no, I have been very blessed in that area. What I mean by this is, is that I never thought I could get into college, academically. I was never someone who was very academically excellent, but I was average. However, whenever my parents would talk ab0ut college with friends of the family, they always came back with an impression that I wouldn’t make it. And so, I went to high school with the idea that if I didn’t get a 4.0 and was good at math and science, along with a good ACT/SAT score, sports, and extracurriculars; that I wouldn’t go to college.

I think that says a lot about modern school systems. Why would you have such an emphasis on memorizing random facts, numbers, and theorems; but you don’t have an emphasis on how much knowledge you actually accumulate in 4 years? For kids like me, who are more creative and generally look at learning in a ” what do I know about this subject” rather than ” what do you know about ____” specifically, the school system does nothing to treat this knowledge, this wealth of actually useful information as something that should be every students’ end goal. What does this teach children then? It teaches children that if you cannot memorize useless information, but can fill in bubbles you will get ahead in life.

I hate to break it to you, but that simply isn’t true. The world doesn’t need any more robotic humans. We ( sooner or later) will have actual robots to take over those people’s jobs. The people who can apply what they know in situations that suit a need, those are the people that succeed in life. To prove my point, I’m sure you have watched the video ” Suing the School System” that’ts been floating around the internet. He reminds people that if you look closely the school system is set up much like a factory. You work for a period of time, you get a break, lunch and then you are out. You learn to sit in neat rows, and only should speak when you are spoken to. A quote that I have gone the last few years reminding myself of ” For the first 5 years of life you are taught to stand up and speak. Then for the next 15,they teach you to sit down and shut up.

I digress, but there is one message to all of my ranting. If you are a kid like me: creative but average in school, I have one message for you;  You will make it. You are smart in your own right. Don’t let anyone tell you differently. You will find a place that is for students like you. Keep working and doing your best, while sharing happiness and kindness along the way, and you will be just fine.

Sincerely, an anxious student,

Lia

Leave a Reply

