5 of the best books I’ve read this Summer

I am that girl who spends most of her summer reading all of the books that I couldn’t within the school year ( though to be honest for most of the school year I could get through about a book a week). The genres will vary somewhat but most of these novels are fiction,though, one of them seems more like a nonfiction than a fiction. ANYWAY… let’s get to the list, shall we?

 

1) The Heart of Betrayal by Henry Holt

  This book surprised me. When I first started reading it I really didn’t think that I was going to like it. But, as you continue to read it the plot gets thicker and thicker until you are basically screaming at the book for your OTP to finally kiss ( or that the main character kissed the wrong guy). This book is action packed and full of angsty romance that kept me reading and reading ( until I finished the book in two days) Look out for the sequel that comes to stores sometime soon!

 

2) I am the Weapon by Allen Zadoff

It isn’t very often that I find a good assassin thriller novel. This book reminded me of my favorite book of all time ” How to lead a life of crime” which has a very similar vibe. This book is full of action and a fun change of pace for a girl who usually reads books from a girls’ point of view. The sequels are just as good and equally entertaining. I finished the ( so far) three book series in the span of a week ( which in Julia speak means I enjoyed it immensely). I can’t wait for the new book to come out soon.

 

3) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

 This book was a very close tie with number three and I had a really hard time picking which one was higher up on my list. This book was absolutely incredible. It has a great theme of breaking away from Fate and being the person you want to be and loving who you want to love no matter their status. This book seems very stereotypical,and it reminded me a lot of the beginning of Legend. I believe this book is good for anyone to read and it was incredibly entertaining. It is very witty and quick as well as extremely fast paced.

4) The Dark Net By Jamie Bartlett

The Dark Net is certainly a borderline book. It is labeled Fiction but gives off a completely Non-fiction vibe. The Dark Net is what I would call a selective audience book and appeals to very few readers. I enjoyed the book but only because I am a total computer nerd and loved learning to code in middle school. This book is filled with old time technical computer Jargon so if this doesn’t appeal to you then I suggest picking up another book.

 

5) Ready Player One By Earnest Cline

This book had to have been one of the best books I had read at the beginning of the summer.This is also another one of those selective audience books. I would recommend this to someone who loves video games and is familiar with the realm of an MMORPG ( Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) or is a fan of the Anime series ” Sword Art Online” which it has a very similar technical style. I loved this book immensely. It was extremely witty and hilarious and it had me saying ” This is SO me” or ” This is someone I know” on a regular basis.

 

Leave a Reply

